You are here


The emergence of Kituo cha Katiba: Eastern African Centre for Constitutional Development (KcK) in 1997 was a logical embodiment of an historic opportunity for the peoples of Eastern Africa to reshape the social contract with their governments. Since the opening up of political space for democratization in Eastern Africa and Africa as a whole, the people have progressively, though painstakingly, been empowered to hold their governments accountable and have their aspirations, welfare needs and other rights promoted and protected.

The founder members of KcK having recognized that an emerging culture of constitutionalism requires an organizational apparatus and strategic focus in order to make practical progress, commissioned consultations by Center for Basic Research (CBR) that targeted diverse respondents in Kenya, Uganda and Tanzania. The process brought to the fore the imperative to promote the active participation of civil society in good governance and democratic development and to consequently ingrain a culture of constitutionalism.

Additionally, the 1999 East African Treaty establishing the East African Community (EAC) confirmed KcK’s relevance as a regional body focusing on research, documentation, networking and advocacy on constitutionalism, good governance and democratic development. KcK is registered in Uganda as a non-governmental organization and a company limited by guarantee. The organisation was subsequently registered as a company limited by guarantee in Tanzania Zanzibar and as a company limited by guarantee in Kenya.

Inaugural Strategic Objectives:

  1. Advance the science, processes and art of constitution making, constitutionalism and democratic governance through basic, comparative and applied research.
  2. Commission state-of-the-art studies on various dimensions of constitution making, constitutionalism and democratic governance in the region.
  3. Promote the values and an ethos of constitutionalism and gender equality and equity throughout the East African region.
  4. Highlight and address the plight of disadvantaged social, cultural, economic and political groups in the region, including minorities, refugees and people with disabilities.
  5. Collect and compile the testimonies of prominent East Africans intricately involved in the processes of constitutional evolution and development in the region and to foster the contribution of grassroots operatives to these processes.
  6. Host an annual lecture by a prominent East African on constitutionalism and constitutional development in East Africa, and widely disseminate the text of the lecture throughout the region and beyond.
  7. Undertake information collection, data banking, archiving, publication and dissemination through the mechanism of seminars, workshops and conferences, and to promote the use of new forms of media and electronic technology in fostering public debate and dialogue.
  8. Create and maintain a directory of individuals and institutions committed to the ideals of constitutionalism and democratic governance.
  9. Encourage, support and facilitate the reform of school and university curricula incorporating aspects relating to constitution making, constitutionalism and democratic governance.
  10. Act as a regional watchdog for the protection, promotion and enhancement of constitution making, constitutionalism and democratic governance.

Founding and Former Board Members:

Founding Members:

  • Prof. Kivutha Kibwana, Kenya
  • Dr. Willy Mutunga, Kenya
  • Prof. Chris Maina Peter, Tanzania
  • Fr. John Mary Waliggo, Uganda
  • Hon. Lady Justice Solomy B. Bossa, Uganda
  • Prof. J. Oloka-Onyango, Uganda

Former Board Members:

  • Prof. Gervais Gatunange
  • Ms. Jocelyn Nahimana
  • Ms. Betty Kaari Murungi
  • Ms. Lynn Muthoni Wanyeki
  • Mr. Lawrence Mute
  • Prof. Winnie Mitullah
  • Mr. Ezra Mbogori
Tanzania Mainland
  • Mr. Evod Mmanda
  • Prof. Rose Shayo
  • Hon. Ummy Mwalimu
  • Hon. Dr. Tulia Ackson
  • Hon. Dr. Adelardus Kilangi
Tanzania Zanzibar
  • Mr. Salum Toufiq
  • Amb. Maalim Mahadhi
  • Mr. Ali Uki
  • Hon. Sarah Bagalaaliwo
  • Ms. Jane Nabunnya

Inaugural Secretariat (1997 - 1999):

  • Ms. Harriet Busingye - Executive Director
  • Ms. Damalie Nakate – Youth Officer
  • Ms. Margaret Kalule – Secretary
  • Mr. W. Nsubuga - Accountant
  • Ms. Ann Nakonde – Asst. Accountant
  • Mr. George Matovu – Driver

Former Executive Directors:

  • Ms. Harriet Busingye
  • Dr. Maria Nassali
  • Ms. Judy Kamanyi